The Time Traveler’s Wife: A Review

I’ve been following Kaylee of All Things Bright and Beautiful, MK of From the Guest Room, and Aubrey of The Kinch Life for quite a few months now. These awesome ladies host a monthly book club, which is named The Book Club. Because of my work schedules, I hadn’t been able to participate. But then these ladies announced a book swap (and that the book you received from your swap partner would be what you read in September) and I decided to give it a shot!

I got paired with Amanda of Dragonflight Dreams. Luckily I had read her blog and we have been friends on Goodreads for a while, so I felt pretty good about what I sent her. I picked out a book that was on her to-read list that was also on my to-read list…. but it’s not a book I’ve read yet… so I’m eager for her review. And I’ll let you guys go check out her blog to find out what I sent her for a book!

I was surprised when I had two packages show up on the same day from Amazon. One included Tuesdays with Morrie by Mitch Albom, and the other was The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger. Although it would have been easy to go with the shorter one, I did decide to read The Time Traveler’s Wife since I had heard such good things about it and it was highly recommended.

So here is the deal, and by the deal, I mean my review.

I liked this book. I really wish I could say that I loved this book. The characters were awesome. I loved Claire, Henry, Kimy, Alba. They were all very likeable. Even Claire and Henry’s families. Audrey did a great job of describing Henry’s time travels. She always included the date and age(s) of Claire and Henry at each moment. But unfortunately, as wonderful a job as she did, it gave me migraines to read this book because of the time traveling. The book was also really long. The beginning went pretty quickly, and I was able to get through the end quickly too, but I definitely felt like the author could have taken out some of the middle and still had the book be just as interesting.

All of that being said, I liked the book. It was long and was difficult at times, so I’m not sure it would be a book I’d re-read often, but I definitely would give it 4/5 stars.

signature

2 thoughts on “The Time Traveler’s Wife: A Review

  1. Amanda Cobb (@DragonflightGal) September 30, 2012 at 8:27 pm Reply

    I agree that the time travel/relative ages is confusing – that’s one aspect where I definitely like the book better than the movie, because the movie doesn’t provide the age/year references. I’m so glad you liked it, though, despite the migraine! 🙂 I hope you like the other book as well. Thanks for a great swap!

  2. Eileen October 10, 2012 at 10:20 pm Reply

    That book is so emotionally draining… so good but I can only read it every once in a while. Actually, I haven’t read it lately. Maybe I’ll read it soon (if I’m feeling masochistic lol).

Leave a Reply

