The Brunswick Outdoor Arts Festival

So I knew that The Brunswick Outdoor Arts Festival was happening this past weekend. I actually had never been before, and I knew the family I nanny for was planning to go, but I hadn’t really thought about going. My mom told me our friend Shelby was going to be there, and so my mom and I decided to go take a walk down Main Street Brunswick to go and check out what was going on! It was gorgeous and sunny, without being too humid, a perfect afternoon to spend some time outside before heading back home to go through our basement (we have boxes and bins we hadn’t gone through in forever… like kitchen stuff from my sophomore year of college).

My awesome new bracelet!

I really didn’t go with the intention of spending money… in fact, I didn’t have any cash on me. But when I saw the bracelet pictured above from LEEP Jewelry, I couldn’t help myself. I love that it’s simplistic, yet classy. And I nice silver metal is super durable for working with small children. I wore it when I left, and pretty much the rest of the day! Lee, and most of the other artists I saw that day, were all using Square, which made it easy for them to take credit/debit cards… which made it easy to spend most of my paycheck from last week! Ooops!

I also ended up finding an awesome ring from Stonewood Jewelry that goes great with my new bracelet, unfortunately the one they had was just a smidge too big. But the owner, Stewart, was actually willing to custom make me the same ring a little bit smaller, so I ordered that. I’ll show you what it looks like when it arrives in a couple of weeks!

We ended up at the Bowdoin College Store, which was where Shelby was with her art, and I just couldn’t get over how adorable this book was! Good Bones, Great Pieces, was written by a Bowdoin grad and her mother. It also seems incredibly detailed on the inside. I probably should have waited and ordered it online, but it seems like it’s going to be a great read when I get around to having time to read.

This tea was also a find at the Bowdoin College store. The tea is picked by small local farmers in Kenya, local women create the labels out of banana paper, and 100% of the procedures go to making sure that children living in orphanages can get education. The company was also created by a Bowdoin grad.

So, all in all, a wonderful, but expensive outing. If you’re ever in Brunswick in mid-August, you should check it out.

Oh, and although I have no pictures, I did bump into my 3rd grade teacher! She teaches and also creates jewelry. It was so funny!

signature

P.S. As usual, none of these businesses know who I am, or know that I have a blog, so nobody perked me anything to mention them.. I just like sharing good finds!

3 thoughts on “The Brunswick Outdoor Arts Festival

  1. Erin August 19, 2012 at 7:58 pm Reply

    Yay! Love the new blog, and will be following, of course!

  2. The Gingerbread Gem September 23, 2012 at 7:43 pm Reply

    Hi

    Visiting you from Better blogger network. Are you talking about Brunswick, Maine? I was there last year (visiting New England with my family). It’s a small world.

    Goedele from Belgium

    • Monique September 23, 2012 at 8:09 pm Reply

      Yes, I’m talking about Brunswick, Maine! I’ve lived in Maine my whole life. Did you enjoy your trip to Maine?

Leave a Reply

