Behind the Blog Name // The Girl Behind the Blog

I thought I’d give you some insight as to why I started a “new” blog with a new name… I’m using the term “new blog” loosely since I have imported all of my old blogs posts (& comments!!).

In middle/high school, we had a unit in our English Class where we learned about vignettes, read them, and wrote some. According to Wikipedia, a vignette is just a short scene, something focused on one moment. I thought of how blog posts could be little vignettes, little scenes of my day. I also realized that by my old blog being called “Small Town 20 Something” I would eventually have to rename/rebrand my blog anyway if I ever left my small town, or in 6 years (if I was still blogging there) since I’d then be a 30 something. This name is much more flexible in terms of where I live and my age, since neither is in the title.

And since I realized my old blog’s about me page was awful, and I am still working on updating this one, I thought I’d give any new visitors an idea of who is blogging!

 

 

My name is Monique. I’m 24. I graduated in 2011 with a bachelors degree in Marketing Management and a certificate in Web Development. I went to school in Vermont, and have grown up/currently live in Maine. My parents were gracious enough to let me move back in with them, so I live with my mother, father, dog named Abby, and my awesome crazy cat (who thinks he’s a dog) named Charlie. I currently work two part time jobs to pay my student loan debt off… I nanny in the morning for two awesome kids, and in the afternoons I work at a child care center… mostly with the school aged kids, but sometimes I float to other classrooms too. I probably will talk about taking care of kids, or link to kid type-stuff I like, but I don’t have kids of my own.. so that will be where that kind of stuff comes from.

I love books, but between working, blogging, and commuting to and from work I hardly have any time to read. From time to time I will probably blog about book reviews. If you want to know more about what I read, check out my profile on Goodreads, or my very neglected book blog on Tumblr.

Most days I don’t really think in detail about what I’m going to wear, and since sometimes I get baby drool on my shirts I’m not super picky. I have posted a little bit about What I Wore, though those posts are few and far between. Family and Friends are some of my most common topics. Charlie is also a pretty popular guy around here.

As far as what kind of weekly features that you will continue to see here, will be my 10 Things on Tuesday series as well as continuing to do my Coffee Date posts.

Want to know anything else? Just ask! Please be paitent with the look of my blog here. I’ll be fixing her up!

signature

Leave a Reply

