virtual coffee date: march 10th

Hello everyone! Glad to have you join me for virtual coffee this weekend!

If we sat down for coffee, I’d tell you about how today is Charlie’s birthday! He turns one year old. We’ve spoiled him a little bit. I tweeted this morning about how he came and snuggled in bed with me. I ended up going out and getting him a few things at the pet store… namely just some dog treats (which he loves), a new toy (which he likes), and a little mint green cat bed (he hasn’t touched).

Luckily, Charlie’s “brofur” Toby seems to like it, although Toby is a bit big for it. At least it’s getting some use, so I don’t feel like it was a total waste of money!

He also got some birthday wishes from his NYC family via my facebook. You can say it…. this cat is seriously spoiled!

I’d also talk to you about change. My mom found out that her job that she has had for the past 10 years is ending at the end of the month. Although we knew that it could possibly be coming, it didn’t make getting the news any easier. And today is “angry day”. Angry about the state cutting the funds that affected the outcome, and angry for the daycare providers that she worked with, and the children who were served by the programs. The children will be the ones who will be most affected by this in the end. It’s just such a bummer. I’m trying to do my best to make sure that I am taking care of myself financially so that my mom doesn’t have to worry about me.

I’d tell you I had a good week at work with the kids. And that besides being tired, I’m doing well. Though my skin has been super dry lately. I got some new moisturizing lotion, and hoping that adding that to my morning routine will help!

I’d tell you that I’m getting caught up with posting my 30 days of lists.

And now I will stop talking your ear off. How was your week?

Also, go check out some of the other people enjoying their virtual coffee/tea!

And thank Alissa for hosting!

signature

One thought on “virtual coffee date: march 10th

  1. admin March 10, 2012 at 8:34 pm Reply

    Monique, I am so sorry about your mom’s news. The same thing happened to me last June – 10 years working for my county intermediate unit (special education agency – I worked with kids who were in an alternative program and I loved my job and the people I worked with) and I was laid off. It was very hard. Your mom will go through a lot of different feelings and stages, especially since she has probably identified herself with her job. It is similar to grieving the death of a loved one. I didn’t know it would be like that until I experienced it for myself. It is a loss of identity as well as a financial loss and a loss of security. Please let your mom know that I’ve been there and it will get better, even though it is a devastating blow right now. I’m sure she must be in shock right now.

    I like the photo of Charlie!

Leave a Reply

