Savings Jar + Altitude Summit

I feel like practically every time a blogging conference rolls around I start wishing I were there. This happens especially when The Altitude Summit (aka Alt) happens.

finances

I’d already decided to set aside coins and some cash for a special treat as one of my goals for the year. But the more I thought about it, the more I decided that I was going to save up for Alt Summit in Salt Lake City in 2014.

Savings Jar - So Far

Savings Jar – So Far

I know I’m going to need to step up my savings game, but I found this great idea from The Full Moxie that I’m going to implement. Basically, you start the 1st week in the year by putting $1 in the jar. The following week, $2. Then so on and so forth until the end of the year, always putting in as much money as it is the week in the year. If you go to The Full Moxie website, in the link I just referenced, she’s even included a printable!

I ended up spending money, but I found this large decorative jar at Target and I’m going to use it to save for Alt!

http://www.flickr.com/photos/alt_design_summit/8419323880/in/set-72157632625295149

Alt Summit Map – Picture by Justin Hackworth via the Alt Flickr page.

I’ve loved reading all of the recaps of Alt. I was stalking the #altsummit hashtag on instagram and twitter the entire weekend that it was happening.. And I loved this map where all of the attendees placed their business cards.

I am so proud of this little state where I live. I really want to go and put Maine bloggers on the map!

signature

P.S. Have you ever been to Alt Summit? Are you going to go next year? What’s your method for saving?

6 thoughts on “Savings Jar + Altitude Summit

  1. Traci at TheFullMoxie.com February 6, 2013 at 8:01 pm Reply

    Thanks for the shout out!

    • Monique February 8, 2013 at 1:55 pm Reply

      Traci, your welcome! I love the idea, and I can’t wait to print out the printable and start using it!

  2. Caitlin February 6, 2013 at 8:11 pm Reply

    Saving is not easy. It helps me to have a completely separate account to put the money in – we’re slowly trying to save up for a house so I try to put as much as possible from each paycheck. It isn’t easy when there are so many fun things to buy!

    • Monique February 8, 2013 at 1:55 pm Reply

      I could definitely utilize my savings account a little better… Saving for a house is exciting! You’ll get there, slowly but surely, even if there are lots of pretty things calling your name to buy them!

  3. studentdebtsurvivor February 6, 2013 at 9:22 pm Reply

    My method for saving is “paying myself first” Each month I take my savings out of my paychecks before I pay bills or do anything else. That way I’m not tempted to save less because I’ve spent too much.

    • Monique February 8, 2013 at 1:53 pm Reply

      KK, That’s a really smart idea. I should start doing that, that way I know that I’m at least getting somewhere with my savings!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

