December Goals Check In + 2012 Review + Goals for 2013

First off, let’s check in with how I’m doing with my December goals.

  1. Drink More Water. [I didn't do well with this at all. But I got an awesome water bottle called the Aquazinger for Christmas that infuses the water with fresh fruit and has definitely upped my water intake!]
  2. Blog 21 times! [I blogged 12 times. Definitely did better with blogging than I have in previous months, but I definitely didn't officially hit this goal.]
  3. Do dinner/lunch/coffee with friends at least once a week.  [I did great with this goal! Went to a few Christmas parties, spent some time visiting with some friends. Although I did cancel on some friends a few times, I did do better with spending time with others!]
  4. Read 2 Books. [Falling Together by Marisa de los Santos was the only book I ended up reading this month. So I only halfway reached this goal.]
  5. Complete at least two of the DIY/Craft projects on my to-make list. [Did terrible with that.]
  6. Email someone I admire once a week. [I also didn't do well with this either.]

2012 in Review

IMG_2519

I started off January being unemployed… but only a few weeks into the new year I got 2 Part-Time jobs, both in childcare that I loved. Spent a lot of time working. Worked on my birthday, which I wasn’t feeling well for, so it definitely didn’t nearly come close to being as awesome as my 23rd birthday.

The biggest thing that happened to me (besides being employed) was a family trip to Australia for a week and a half when my dad had to go for work. It was my first trip I’ve needed to go through customs, and what I consider to be my first trip out of the country. (When you live in Maine so close to the Canadian border, and you never needed a passport to go there, it doesn’t really count.) It was amazing and we had a great time.

Spent quality time with family and friends, spending some time up in Belgrade Lakes. We did some updates in our kitchen, which looks a million times better than it did before. In late August I gave my 2 weeks notice to my part time jobs and took a full time Assistant Toddler Teacher job working alongside my cousin. It came with benefits and a wonderful group of kids, parents, and co-workers. I had a wonderful Thanksgiving and Christmas, and we lived through many days this year where we were told that the world was going to end. For Christmas I got quite a bit of fun items, and a lot of gifts and yummy food from the families where I work. I also got a couple scratch tickets, one of which gave me $100 in winnings!

Goals for 2013

Be Healthy:

  • Drink More Water
  • Exercise
  • Eat Better

With my new water bottle, I’m hoping that will help with my water intake. I rarely exercise, unless you consider my work with chasing toddlers exercise. I’m also hoping that I can eat better and just be more aware of how much junk food I’m eating.

Travel:

  • Visit Eileen in Alaska
  • Plan a 2014 trip to Africa

I haven’t seen Eileen since her wedding in 2011. I definitely need to make a trip up to visit her happen this year! I also want to go to Africa. It’s weighing heavily on my heart. I want to do some proactive work in planning, like figuring out where I’ll go and contacting organizations to work with, and learning some key phrases in a new language.

Take Care of Finances:

  • Participate in The Spending Fast
  • Pay down $12,000 in student loan debt
  • Increase income by running a side business
  • Put my entire tax refund check into a Rainy Day Fund
  • Save coins & $5 savings plan for a special treat

I really hope that my finances are an area in my life where I can make a huge impact in 2013. I hope to pay down $12,000 in my student loan debt. I hope to do some saving by participating in The Spending Fast (with a few exceptions here and there) and by putting my coins and all $5 I get in a piggy bank so that I can save up for a special treat, like a new phone or a DSLR. I want to put my entire tax refund into savings for something like a Travel Fund or to save up to move out of my parents house. I also want to either re-open and do a lot to grow cool & pretty things shop, or do some other side business.

Make Time for Friends:

  • Remember Birthdays
  • Show Up
  • Respond in a timely fashion

I want to be better with my relationships with others. I want to give people birthday cards for their birthdays instead of just a message on facebook. I want to stop canceling plans with people and really just show up (and give them my undivided attention, putting the phone away). I also need to be better at responding to text messages in a timely matter.

Hobbies and Crafts:

  • Learn to knit
  • Learn to crochet
  • Work on my sewing abilities
  • Make some jewelry
  • Finishing cheerleading scrapbook
  • Start travel scrapbook
  • Finish recipe book
  • Read 26 books

I want to learn to knit  or crochet, or maybe both. I really want to do some more sewing since I haven’t really sewed a lot and I would love to work up to where I can make myself some things from different patterns. I want to make some jewelry and work on just generally being more crafty. I also want to re-teach myself to do cross-stitch/needlepoint.

I want to finish my cheerleading scrapbook, since it’s the closest to being finished. I want to start on my travel scrapbook. I also want to finish making my little recipe book. I also would like to read 26 books.

I am hoping that 2013 is my year! I’ll turn 25 and I have big plans for this year!

signature

5 thoughts on “December Goals Check In + 2012 Review + Goals for 2013

  1. Josie January 2, 2013 at 10:55 am Reply

    The great things about goals is that even if you don’t totally reach them, a lot of the time they still get you to do much more then if you hadn’t made that goal!
    That picture of you and ‘roo is too cute!

    • Monique February 8, 2013 at 2:01 pm Reply

      Thanks Josie! I feel like having them written down definitely helps me to get them accomplished! I also printed out a mini copy for inside my planner… so I can look at them every day and see what I’m working to achieve!

  2. studentdebtsurvivor January 6, 2013 at 9:00 pm Reply

    Good luck with all of your goals in 2013. I love that you’re going to learn to knit. My college roommate showed me the basics and since then I’ve self-taught myself a lot. Not only do I love creating things and being able to tell people I made them, I also love how much it relaxes me.

    • Monique February 8, 2013 at 1:59 pm Reply

      Thank you! It would be awesome if I could knit things for people next Christmas. I hope it could be something nice and relaxing I can do while the kids in my class are napping!

  3. jasmine January 8, 2013 at 11:05 pm Reply

    Monique!!! :D hii!!!!! here’s to 2013 *clink* *gulp gulp*!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

