30 days of thankfulness: days 2+3

This week felt like it went on forever… so I was super exhausted last night, as well as not feeling 100%. So instead of posting yesterday and today for what I’m thankful for, I’m going to talk about 2 different people I’m thankful for. I was originally going to post on different days about my mother and my father, but I’ll talk about them both (but separately) today.

My mom and I have always been very close. She’s not only my mother, she is also one of my best friends, and one of my biggest confidants. I don’t really know what I would do without her. We have our moments where we butt heads, but she’s incredible. She takes care of me when I’m sick, and sometimes straightens my hair. When I was younger and head chronic headaches, and had a really hard time explaining how I felt and where the pain was, she didn’t ever once question if I was really sick. I don’t know what else I can say besides I love her to death and she’s one of my favorite people ever.

My dad and I were not always as close as I was growing up. My sister was athletic, and they sort of always had a better relationship. I’ve done a lot of thinking lately about how great my dad is. When I read this post about When to DIY vs. When to Hire from Young House Love, it made me think of all of the things my dad has done. He’s put in bathrooms in former closets, redone kitchens, finished a basement that included the room I lived in as a young teen… He’s built a chicken coop, put in new doors. He’s an electrician by trade, so even small electrical or plumbing tasks are not a problem. When I went off to college he wrote me a wonderful letter about how proud of me he was. I love him and I’m incredibly proud of him and all of the things that he’s done.

Both of my parents also went back to college as adults. I’ve seen them juggle being parents while working full time and going to school on top of that and I know it was hard but they are both very hard workers!

So Mom & Dad, I love you guys, and I’m so proud of you and feel so lucky that you’re my parents!

signature

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

